Home Page / Heroes Monuments / Heroes Monument 3
Print this page

Heroes Monument 3

A third Monument dedicated to the heroic dead of Tylliria, Savvas Neophytou, Christodoulos Agapiou, Costas Agapiou, Spyros Demosthenous, Martha Sophocleous and Pavlos Maurogenis is located at the foreyard of the Gymnasium-Lyceum of Kato Pyrgos, on Nicolaous Papageorgiou Avenue. The construction of the Monument was sponsored by the Association of Expatriates of Tylliria in England.

Savvas Neophytou and Christodoulos Agapiou came fromKato Pyrgos and fell while fighting heroically in 1974. Costas Agapiou and Spyros Demosthenous also came from Kato Pyrgos, whereas Pavlos Mavrogenis and Martha Sophocleous came from the village of Pigeneia. All four of them fell during the Battles of Tylliria in 1964.